Mixed conditionals

Unreal conditionals (type II + III) sometimes can be mixed, that is, the time reference of the if clause may be different from the one of the main clause.

Past –> Present
If I had taken an aspirin, I wouldn’t have a headache now.
Past –> Future
If I had known that you are going to come by tomorrow, I would be in then.
Present –> Past
If she had enough money, she could have done this trip to Hawaii.
Present –> Future
If I were you, I would be spending my vacation in Seattle.
Future –> Past
If I weren’t flying to Detroit, I would have planned a trip to Vancouver.
Future –> Present
If I were taking this exam next week, I would be high-strung.

Exercise

This entry was posted in Grammar, Outcomes, Textbook, Unit 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

