Conditionals Quick Revision

“If I do my homework, I’ll get good grades. If I get good grades, you’ll send me to university. If I go to university, I’ll graduate and get a job. If I get a job, I might get fired. If I get fired, I could go bankrupt and lose everything. That’s why I didn’t do my homework!”—Cartoon by Randy Glasbergen

You should now be familiar with 1st, 2nd and 3rd conditionals. Have a look at this quick summary and use the links if you need further examples and exercises:

Conditional Sentence Type 1

→ It is possible and also very likely that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Present, will- future

Example: If I find her address, I’ll send her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type I

Conditional Sentence Type 2

→ It is possible but very unlikely, that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Past, Conditional I (= would + Infinitive)

Example: If I found her address, I would send her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type II

Conditional Sentence Type 3

→ It is impossible that the condition will be fulfilled because it refers to the past.

Form: if + Past Perfect, Conditional II (= would + have + Past Participle)

Example: If I had found her address, I would have sent her an invitation.

more on Conditional Sentences Type III

This entry was posted in Grammar, Outcomes, Unit 4. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment