The Apprentice: Auditions

Next March, sixteen candidates will begin their fight for one-life changing opportunity – a quarter of a million pounds to start up a business with Lord Sugar as their partner.

One of the most interesting parts of these programmes is the way candidates describe themselves in their auditions. These are last year’s candidates competing for Lord Sugar’s £250,000 investment in detail. Now, judge for yourself, pick a candidate and watch their audition. Who would you bet on?

Ricky Martin1.Ricky Martin is a 26-year-old recruitment team leader and is also a wrestler. He says: “I truly am the reflection of perfection”. audition1

Katie Wright2.Katie Wright, an editorial and research director, is 26. She says: “I would call myself ‘The Blonde Assassin. I let people underestimate me so I can blow them out of the water”. audition2

Stephen Brady3.Stephen Brady, 33, is a sales manager based in Vienna. She says: “Enthusiasm is a huge asset of mine and I believe it’s caught and not taught”. audition3

Bilyana Apostolova4. Byliana Apostolova is a 25-year-old Bulgarian born risk analyst. She says: “I got myself from a Communist block of flats in Bulgaria to the top of a skyscraper in the heart of the City of London”. audition4

5.Adam Corbally, 32, is a market trader from Derbyshire. He says: “I get too excited but that shows my passion, it shows my drive and it shows my ability”.   audition5

Jane McEvoy6.Jane McEvoy is a 28-year-old co-founder of a food manufacturing company in Kilkenny, Ireland. She says: Anything is achievable if you have drive, ambition and a seriously good work ethic” . audition6

Azhar Siddique7.Azhar Siddique, 33, is the founder and managing director of a catering and refrigeration company, and lives in Manchester. He says: “It’s not who shouts the loudest; it’s who has the ability to control the situation”.   audition7

Jade Nash8.Jade Nash, 29, is a former 18-30 rep turned business development manager. He says: “What I want is to be able to retire when I’m 45, but I’m such a workaholic that I’ll probably carry on until I’m 80”.   audition8

Duane Bryan9.Duane Bryan, 29, from Manchester is the founder/director of a drinks distribution company and is inspired by the Jaegermeister brand. He says: “I am a winner and I am a fighter, in order to be the best you’ve got to beat the best”.   audition9

Gabrielle Omar10.Gabrielle Omar is a 29-year-old architect from London. She says: “When it comes to business I can be like an animal and I will roar my way to the top”.   audition10

Michael Copp11.Michael Copp, 31, is the managing director of a kitchen and bedroom furniture retailer. He says: “I’m better than unique; I’m naturally gifted in business”.   audition11

Maria O’Connor12.Maria O’Connor is a 20-year-old restaurateur who opened her own Greek restaurant a year ago. She says: “If you chuck me in the deep end, I’ll swim, I won’t sink”.   audition12

Nick Holzherr13.Nick Holzherr is a 25-year-old technology entrepreneur from Birmingham. He says: “I’ve got loads of ideas and I know how to whittle them down into ideas that will work and I’ve got what it takes to make them actually happen”.   audition13

Laura Hogg14.Laura Hogg, 28, is a bridal shop owner and former ice skater. She says: “I am going to be one of Scotland’s next great exports”.   audition14

Tom Gearing15.Tom Gearing, 23, is the director of a fine wine investment company. He says: “I’m confident, charismatic, and some people say I’m quite good-looking so that adds to the bill”.   audition15

Jenna Whittingham16.Jenna Whittingham is a 25-year-old beauty salon owner from Lancashire who has never been away from home for more than a week. She says: “My personality and character is ‘once seen never forgotten”.    audition16

The series was won by Ricky Martin. You can read an exclusive interview with Lord Sugar’s new business partner here.

This entry was posted in Listening, Outcomes, Textbook, Unit 9, Vocabulary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

